Fried Roll

(“Fried roll” is the name of this sushi on the menu I ordered  from, but is more of a general name than the proper name for this sushi)

Fried sushi did not sound good to me at all. I was under the impression that sushi should never be fried, and that it couldn’t possibly taste good when it was. Because of this, I was reluctant to order the fried roll. However, since I’m attempting to try out different kinds of sushi, I decided I’d give it a shot.

The fried roll wasn’t really what I was expecting – but that’s a good thing. It’s nothing like what I think of when I think about sushi, but it isn’t bad. It was a very interesting kind of sushi, and was much better than I was expecting.

The fried roll is made from white tuna, yellowtail (or Japanese amberjack – a type of fish), avocado, and kani (imitation crab sticks made from fish meat). All of these ingredients are wrapped in rice and nori (seaweed), but with the rice on the interior of the roll instead of the outside. The whole roll is then deep-fried and sriracha is drizzled on top.

This first thing I noticed about my fried rolls was that they did not look pretty. They didn’t look like they could possibly taste good. They were also large, and eating them was somewhat difficult because of it (I prefer small sushi rolls that can be eaten as one bite so all of the ingredients can be tasted together). However, when I tried them, they were better than I expected.

Fried rolls are much heavier than the other types of sushi I’ve tried, which made them seem almost like they weren’t actually sushi, but some other kind of food. The different ingredients all worked well together to create a good flavor, just not really a sushi flavor. The fried flavor was almost too strong, but I could still taste the ingredients. However, with both jalapeno and sriracha in the roll, it was really spicy, and the spiciness started to somewhat cover up the other flavors as I ate more. Between the roll being fried and the spiciness, it was hard to eat very many of these.

Fried rolls have a good taste, but don’t really seem like sushi to me. I prefer lighter, more fresh types of sushi. The spiciness and fried aspect of the sushi rolls were too strong and made it difficult to continue eating them. While the fried rolls tasted good, I probably won’t be ordering them much more.

Leave a Reply

