Eel Roll

Eel roll… That sounded pretty disgusting to me. I was actually a little scared to order it! However, since I’m attempting to try more types of sushi, I decided to go for it.

Eel rolls are made from unagi (the Japanese word for freshwater eel) and cucumber wrapped in rice and nori. The rolls are then drizzled with unagi sauce. Unagi sauce is made out of soy sauce, sake (a type of Japanese rice wine), mirin (another wine similar to sake), and sugar.

I had no idea what to expect from the eel rolls. When I tasted the first one, I was very surprised by the flavor.

It had a slight sweet flavor, which I assume came from the unagi sauce. The sauce tasted almost like a kind of barbeque sauce, but not as strong.

I couldn’t really taste the eel meat very well (and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or bad thing). The one piece of meat inside each roll was rather small and not very noticeable. I could feel the texture of it and could tell there was some meat, but I couldn’t get much of the flavor of it.

On the other hand, there was quite a bit of cucumber in the roll, and it could easily be tasted. The cucumber also gave the roll a crunchiness, which I usually like, but this time there was almost too much crunchiness.

The overall flavor of the sushi was good, I just think maybe the ingredients were slightly off balance. I think that a little less cucumber, a little more eel, and maybe slightly less unagi sauce would fix this problem.

Despite the slight imbalance in the flavors, I really enjoyed my eel rolls. The flavors were all good, and I especially liked the unagi sauce drizzled on top.

Eels rolls are now certainly ranked high on my list of favorite sushi rolls, though I wouldn’t say they’re one of my favorites. However, I imagine I’ll probably wind up ordering them again sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

