Spicy Salmon Roll

NOTE: The photo for this post is not of the actual sushi I ate; those pictures were somehow deleted, and this one is the closest I could find to what I ate.

When I ordered salmon rolls, I was expecting a piece of salmon wrapped in rice and nori. Instead, I got what looked like spicy tuna rolls. Turns out I was given spicy salmon rolls instead of regular salmon rolls!

Spicy salmon rolls are basically the exact same thing as spicy tuna rolls (tuna mixed with chili oil and Tobiko, wrapped in rice and nori along with avocado and cucumber) just with salmon used instead of tuna.

Because the ingredients are so similar, the two rolls taste almost the same. The flavor of the salmon is milder than the tuna, however, which actually makes a much bigger difference than I expected.

In this case, since the meat is less noticeable, the other ingredients did seem to overpower it a little. Mostly all I could taste from the meat was the spiciness, though I could detect a salmon taste occasionally. There was also the crunchiness of the cucumber and the taste of the avocado helping to mask the salmon.

The wasn’t really anything wrong with the sushi – in fact it was really good – but when compared to its tuna counterpart, the spicy salmon roll just isn’t as good. The flavors of the two rolls are really almost identical, except for a lack of a meaty flavor in the salmon ones.

Spicy salmon rolls are very good, but tuna just works as a better meat for the roll than salmon does. Because of this, I probably won’t order spicy salmon rolls again and will just stick to tuna ones instead.

Leave a Reply

